29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Good Tidings, Good News!

What’s up folks?

I know. I know. It’s been ages since I’ve posted a post. Things started to get pretty nuts for me as of late. But first things first.

Did I share with you all that I was accepted into my graduate school program??

Yes, yes! Your girl did it! She got it. And I will be a student all over again, starting in March. Holla!

I’m excited. 2014 is going to be rather interesting. Very, very interesting.

In other news, after years of service and ups and downs and 174,000 + miles, and too many recent problems, I went ahead and purchased a new car this weekend.

Frieda the Ford Focus has been put to pasture, and my new car, yet to be named is a very lovely Hyundai Elantra!

Elaine?

I often say, cars aren’t a big deal to me, but I have to admit, driving and stepping out of that car does make me feel very confident. Like it matches who I am and what I’m about. It isn’t flashy by any means, but it’s really nice to me.  I don’t have all sorts of techie extras, but the fact that I have XM satellite, I’m impressed.

It’s no lie that when things start to happen, one, they just happen and they can happen fast. I’m glad to have a new car that I can feel safe in. I’m very grateful to my sister for being able to use a pretty sweet family discount that even the folks at the dealership were impressed by. So it’s really all good. I couldn’t have gotten a better deal. No way.

Christmas is around the corner and I’m looking forward to driving home to see my parents in a brand new car. I’ve already decided that no matter what, I’m going to pay my father back for sending me the money to help fix my old car last week. I kind of feel bad we went through all of that trouble and then I went and bought a new car anyway. But when the engine light came on a day later and I took it back and found out there was more costly work that needed to be done, I took that as a sign.

I don’t have much to report about the Wild Card. We hang out from time to time, I’m kind of sure he likes me, but it’s kind of like he does juuuust enough to show interest. I’m not sure what to take from that.

I’ve been in situations where men did a whole lot of talking about how much they liked me, how great they thought I was, but when it was really time to step up they didn’t. So, maybe this is a good thing that Wild Card hasn’t completely shown his hand. The process has been slow going, but not bad. So… we shall see.

I honestly don’t want anything for Christmas. I will accept whatever I’m given, but I feel super fortunate and I really just want to spend time with people and be happy and healthy. I’ve been given everything I need and I’m so blessed.

There are a couple of cool things that I wouldn’t mind having if I made a wish list, but I’ll really be fine.

I tried this ballerific coat on at an H&M near Times Square over Thanksgiving holiday. At first, I tried it on as a joke, but then realized it was actually hot. Big fan. http://www.hm.com/us/product/21849?article=21849-A

This is not your average candy dish. That’s why I like it even more, and I don’t really keep candy on my desk, but I would have this dish there. http://www.uncommongoods.com/product/unzipped-glass-zipper-bag

A funky company called “Pistol Whipped Cream” has this really dope “elements” necklace. People have been on a periodic elements kick due to the popularity of the show “Breaking Bad.” I like it because I’m a nerd. http://www.thepistolwhippedcream.com/collections/jewelry/products/flowers-bursting-out-of-revolvers-studs

I would also like to see Prince wherever I can this year. I’m holding out hope it will happen.

But other than that, I’m good. I’m happy. I’m blessed beyond belief.

Happy Holidays everyone! Let’s enjoy it!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Good Tidings, Good News!

  1. OMG!!! Congratulations!!! (on the acceptance and the new car, but mostly the acceptance —– yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!)

Leave a Reply

