29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Backup Pl(M)an

Angie Stone has a great song I like, called “Backup Plan.”

She basically sings that every woman should have a backup plan/man in case your current boo isn’t acting right.

I’m in an odd situation. For all intents and purposes, I am single. So I don’t owe anyone anything. I’m not formally exclusive with anybody at the moment.

The Wild Card situation is just that.

So there’s another I’ve been just talking to on the phone. I’m really not sure what to call him. But he seems like a nice, laid-back, kind-hearted person. He has a good job, and a positive attitude. From his photos online, he seems attractive enough.

We have not gone on a date yet. He’s supposed to be cooking something up soon, but the first time he brought up actually hanging out was yesterday.

I’m willing to go on the date. I think it will be good for me.

Yes, I asked Wild Card to go see Nas all the way in March. Does this mean other dude doesn’t have a shot? Not necessarily, but since we haven’t spent any time together in person, I haven’t quite gotten a feel for his personality or how we’ll click. I do think that regardless, Wild Card and I could be friends.

A strange thing keeps happening to me with the online dating. I’ve been on about four dates where they guys have said, I was the first person they actually decided to meet in person. I’m not sure what that says about me, but I guess it’s kind of flattering. But it kind of makes me feel bad, because I’ve been on several dates! I almost feel like a professional dater.

So my question is, is it cool right now for me to have a bird in the hand/backup plan?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Backup Pl(M)an

  1. Ebony Rose on said:

    If you are not in a committed relationship/dating exclusively then I see nothing wrong with having a “back up” plan….In my early 20’s that was my way of life.

Leave a Reply

