29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Trying This Again

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. I did. It was great to spend time with family and friends and eat, and take in the sights and sounds of NYC.

I checked out “After Midnight” which was an excellent and highly energetic homage to jazz with some of the most talented people you ever did see. Fantasia was stellar and her voice was pristine. A lot of people who say why go see Fantasia sing on Broadway, are the people who need to go see her on Broadway. She has crazy control over her voice and can be just as powerful singing “Stormy Weather” as she would yelling and going nuts on “Free Yourself.”

Fantasia kills jazz standards and gives them the respect the artistry deserves. She knows what time it is and for that, I was digging her more.

The musicians from the Jazz ensemble of Lincoln Center were just amazing. Fantastic!

So this weekend totally ushered in a feeling of family and holiday and I’m really looking forward to Christmas. I generally like Christmas anyway, especially giving gifts and seeing people’s reaction to them. I love the food, I love wearing sweaters and leggings and just the mood people are in and gathering with friends.

I didn’t get to see everyone this trip, which felt like a blur, but it was great to even watch a movie at my aunt and uncle’s house, and sip sweet tea and catch up.

Hanging with my bestie to see Hunger Games was also a highlight. She’s a die-hard fan of the books and to see her get surprised at the end was soooo funny. I love hanging with her and seeing her parents and talking to them.

It was great to have everyone in my family love my sweet potato pie, including my mother– who had her second slice within minutes of her first. It seemed to be a running joke that everyone was surprised at my skills.

Another highlight of my holiday was taking my mentee and her twin sister out for lunch. It’s interesting to pick the brain of 15-year-old girls, and it was a cool moment to see one try creme brulee for the first time.

Throughout my holiday, Wild Card hit me up quite a few times.

Even as I was heading back, he was checking in, wanting to know when I’d be back.

Even though I was interested in seeing him again. I just had to know if he was really genuinely interested or if he wanted me to be the call and come over girl.

So I asked him straight up. And he said that he really was interested. That the only reason he was asking me to his home at night was because we both had crazy schedules. He asked. “Did you really think I was just trying to get into your pants?”

“Well, that’s every man’s long- and short-term goal. I just wanted to be clear. I like sex, but I’m at a point where I want more. And I didn’t want to read the situation wrong. If we keep hanging out, I will want something to go down, but I really want to get to know you.”

So he said that he felt the same way.

And so at the same time we sent the following text messages:

Him: “So what’s the verdict on this evening?”

Me: “Now that we’ve cleared that up. I’d like to see you this evening.”

So here we go.

I’m trying this again.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Trying This Again

  1. Good luck with that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

