29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

You Must Not Know Bout Me

So my jams of the morning have been Beyonce’s “Irreplaceable” and TLC’s “Switch” because Renaissance fell, bumped his head, lost his mind and your girl just does not have the time or energy for it.

I am not in attendance for this.
He fell off the radar because now his pledgees are into the final and most intense stages of their “process.”
I had to ask around to my Greek friends about this foolishness before I pulled the plug on his life support.
They said this dude was trippin and a male friend said, if anything it’s not unusual for old heads to show up at the end. But he’s too far in, even if he is the one who is like a founding father to a chapter.

Blah, blah. It all makes my head hurt.
This dudes pledges are “on line” not him, so I don’t get how he can’t eek out a text or a phone call.

He sent me the half assed email, and a text or two.
But here’s what’s got me feeling some kind of way.
Weeks ago I asked him to see a show of an artist we both like. It was going to be my treat. I asked him if he would be done with the pledgees by then and he said yes.
A week later, I told him I had the tickets and to lock it in. He said cool.
When he didn’t hang out with me on Sunday, as he said he wanted to on that Thursday and only sent me one text message and didn’t answer my messages, I knew on Monday, I need to confirm. So when he sent me that wack email from his job, I asked him to please let me know by mid week if it looked like he wasn’t able to attend because that would give me adequate time to ask someone else and not waste my money.

He sent me a text asking about my day, but never brought up our upcoming date. So I asked him to confirm. Nothing.

Yesterday after not hearing anything at all, I left him a Voicemail. “Could you please take one minute or a half a minute to tell me if you can make it tomorrow night.”

Still nothing.
I dare this fool to pop up today or even show up at the venue. Because he’s about to have his feelings all the way hurt.

I have two guy friends I enjoy attending events with. Both I haven’t seen in ages. So one friend couldn’t make it and the other friend was excited to join me and jumped at the chance. So ha ha ha!

And me and this guy friend always have a great time when we hang out. So I Aint Worried About Nothing. BOOM.

So friends, I wasn’t wrong, correct? I gave this guy numerous opportunities. I had a feeling in my gut he would flake. So I just wanted him to come out and say if he would or would not go. When you are just MIA like that, it’s not crazy for me to wonder if you are still going to show up. Especially since you’ve stood me up in the past or changed plans last minute.

Oh well.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “You Must Not Know Bout Me

  1. Ebony Rose on said:

    You are well within your right to take someone else. You did your part by reaching out, he didn’t do his. It burns me up that ppl don’t want to take 3 seconds to send a quick text to tell someone hello, confirm a date, etc.

    Go and have fun…….Enjoy!

  2. dbaham on said:

    WAIT, what?! I am not in attendance for any of this!! I’m not saying drop him like a bad habit completely because maybe something is going on in his life other than this pledging stuff that he’s just not able to talk about right now — IDK. But I will say that I’ve always believed that people make time for what and who they want to make time for. I’m a busy person (not the president of the US, but I usually have a lot going on), but guess what — when I like a dude, I squeeze in time for him. Even if it’s just a text message here or there (because seriously, you can do that on the toilet).

    So I agree with Ebony Rose… you should definitely go and have fun with your friend and try not to let it bother you too much. Because, I mean really? He couldn’t even say, “hey I don’t think I’ll be able to make it after all. I’m sorry.” That’s not okay.

Leave a Reply

