29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Good Guy Friends and Fun Guys

I have a few male friends who I adore and whom I consider like family. I can talk to them about anything and usually it’s more about just random life stuff than picking their brains about men and relationships or swapping stories about the dating/relationship struggle.

One of these male friends invited me to dinner with his family, which was all good, because his parents are good friends with my parents.

I have to say, It was great. It was a really good feeling and it made me miss my family and miss spending time with people who know and love me best. His parents were still sweet and funny and joyful and still happy together. His sisters exchanged jokes, it was a wonderful vibe. Even when they made jokes about my parents and how huge my dad’s afro was back in the day.

It did make me quickly think about what others have asked me in the past about this friend and why we haven’t gotten together. I enjoyed his family so much, it really did seem natural. I was already in there. But, I’m really not sure of what kind of chemistry me and my friend could have even though we get along well. Unlike the ex, or most guys I’ve dated, I can count and recall a number of times he’s looked out for me, paid for dinner and drinks, listened to me, given me support and encouragement and was always willing to invite me someplace, or share his home if we were out too late. There were times he’s gone out of his way to make sure I’d gotten home safely if I drank a little too much. If I was sad, he’d drag me out of the house. He would always be available when I needed a last-minute date someplace.

Moving on…

UnCommon has been interesting. I’ve decided to abandon my general rules about late night creepery because of his work schedule and hang out with him in the wee hours. It’s been fun and I’ve decided, this guy may be the “fun” dude.

I still have this feeling that there’s some huge secret he has and something is up. I don’t know why I feel this way, but I do.

It also didn’t help that after asking him what it was that he wanted from me, he said he didn’t know just yet, it was too early to tell. But he did know he didn’t want to hurt me.

I told him I’m not necessarily fragile, nor a hard rock, but um, no I don’t want to be hurt.

I never understand men when they say things like that. Why pursue me? Why be all interested if you just know you hurt people?

I told him that I don’t know what I want from him either and that he’s a fun person, and it wouldn’t hurt to have more fun in my life. So fun guy. He will be the fun guy. I’ve had fun guys before, and one actually turned into a boyfriend. And maybe that’s what I’ve been in need of for right now. So, we’ll see how it goes.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Good Guy Friends and Fun Guys

  1. Ebony Rose on said:

    Hahahahaha, I really just read “So fun guy. He will be the fun guy.” in your voice. Having fun is a good thing. Something to take you out of the normal comfort zone. Just sit back and enjoy the fun.

    Soooooo, this male friend of yours…….tell us more.

  2. The male friend is good people that I need to keep in my circle as just that for all parties involved. Seems like I ain’t too good at romantic relationships.

Leave a Reply

