29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Where Am I From?

Alright, alright.

I’ve been hardcore writing about online dating and my many failures and stories. I want to switch gears today and talk about something that I find really interesting.

A co-worker and I tend to share books with one another. Among our favorites that we’ve read and discussed together are Makeda by Randall Robinson and the Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson. The first is fiction, the later non-fiction. Both books celebrate the African-American experience in very powerful ways. Our intense discussions of these books lead to us sharing stories about our family histories as far back as we could remember and the dismay that there are so many missing pieces to the family history of many folk, but particularly Black Americans.

I mentioned to her that a good friend of mine took a DNA test to trace his lineage back to Africa. He was totally pumped that now he knew where he was from. He found that connection that most of us African-Americans have lost along the way and it gave him a greater sense of pride.

So of course taking the DNA test was another thing on my bucket list. Just last week, I mentioned that we should do it together.

Well, my co-worker jumped the gun and she’s already sent in her saliva sample.

I’m going to have to wait until I get paid, but I’m just as thrilled for her as I am for my friend and for the possibility of what my results could be.

There’s a part of me that wants my lineage to end up in an odd part of Africa that had nothing to do with the Transatlantic Slave Route, to open up another world of questions about how my ancestors could have arrived to the United States. It’s all so very fascinating. I love the genealogy shows– especially the ones that follow celebrities and show how their ancestors were connected to moments in history.

I can’t even begin to guess what country my DNA will trace me back to. I will be surprised no matter what. To have that piece of information, will be unbelievable. And it will tell me exactly where I need to visit.

I’d also be very interested in finding out what part of my DNA suggests European heritage too. Let’s face it, if you are African-American and both of your parents came from the south (My dad’s family has a town named after them in North Carolina and a gaggle of folks black and white with the same last name in that particular region.) chances are, you have some kind of European blood. My mother is from Mississippi, just next door to Louisiana, it would be cool to have some French ancestry too.

My head is swirling with the possibilities, and thanks to science and technology, and the fact that genealogy has become so hot that it’s become more accessible to the masses, I too can trace my heritage. Whooo hooo!

And of course, I will let you folks know the results!!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Where Am I From?

  1. dbaham on said:

    So cool! I actually just bought a genealogy book from the National Archives a couple weeks ago, so once again, we’re kinda *here* lol. I always think it’s interesting to learn about our ancestors. I’m lucky in that we can trace back my grandfather’s family on my mom’s side to like the 1800s. But I want to know about everyone! Good luck with your test – I’m sure it’ll be eye-opening no matter what you find.

    • That’s so fantastic you were able to go back that far. It really is fascinating to me. So you are just catching up on all of the blogs today, eh? LOL!

      • dbaham on said:

        Yea, I mean, my grandfather is French Creole so the records are just much better for his family – and by better, I mean there are actual records lol. They even created a website with all the information they had a few years ago, so it was cool just reading it all and taking it all in. I love history in general, but when it’s YOUR history, it’s that much more fascinating.

        And hahaha, yea I guess I am lol

      • Very, very cool. The documents are half the battle.

      • dbaham on said:

        Indeed they are.

  2. Ebony Rose on said:

    I’ve never though about taking a DNA test although I think it would be cool. I know my mother’s genealogy very well since my mother took the time some years ago to research it. My maternal grandfather’s family is white and Native American; like my grandfather is half and half. I found out that my great great grandfather owned slaves and it made me feel some kind of way.

    I need to find out more about my paternal gradfather….heck, I don’t even know his name. I would be interested in finding out more about that side. Hmmmmmmm.

    Good luch with your test! Researching your history is a fun thing to do 🙂

  3. Wow! You were able to find out a lot of information on your mom’s side. That’s pretty cool.

  4. Best of luck with your DNA results. I had a few surprises in mine. But I have found out that most people have a surprise or two in their DNA.

Leave a Reply

