29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Gone Fishin’ Back Online Dating Again, Oh Boy

I’ll admit. I’ve been in a rut.

I’m slowly climbing out. So I went ahead and joined an online dating site, again.

I’m doing Plenty of Fish this time. It’s free. Whatever. I have noticed there are some good-looking guys and it seems like IT guys are ruling the roost, and most folks are talking a good game. But what’s so funny to me is that it seems like everyone wants the same thing, a chance, but we want a chance with people we want and that’s all we want.

Therin lies the rub of these sites, if you aren’t completely open-minded and willing to bend a little and just actually meet people, I think you will be highly disappointed and disgruntled. One guy I talked to last night said that on two occasions he went on dates with women who looked nothing like their photo.

I’ve decided that I’m going to at least hold conversations with the men who appear to be interested in me, and as one of my favorite books suggest, wait on what it is I feel, not what I see, to help guide my decision.

All of the men who I think are attractive, I have a feeling a lot of women think they are attractive and some of these dudes have an attitude. The other dating site I used last fall, it seemed like I had a flood of men trying to meet me on the first day.

I feel like things are moving kind of slow. But I also made the decision not to put any photos of me up with straight hair. I’m wondering if that’s been a deterrent and I don’t have any full body shots. I’m going out with one of my friends tonight, so I’ll get my friend to take some then.

I’ve come to the conclusion I need a cute guy who doesn’t realize he’s actually good-looking. I’m so serious. I’ve decided to look for one stand out feature in a guy who I might not be interested in at first glance and capitalize on that. If I notice he has great eyes, I’ma hold onto that. If he has a great smile, I’ma go with it. He might be large, or super skinny, but I’ve decided if I find one physical feature that I can dig, then I’m all about it.

I’m a fan of beards and goatees, so if I see a nice one, I’ll go with that too.

I’m going to be open. I am making room and providing a welcome atmosphere for my dude to show up.

I’m going to be able to identify him and it’s going to be awesome.

I did already get invited to a bbq this weekend. It made me feel a little uneasy because we only had a hi, how are you convo.

And I’m confused by the men who send just a hi in a message. I wrote some gems, you don’t have an opinion on anything I said, at all?

I know people did reading comprehension in school where they had to read a passage and then write about what they just read. I’m saying, can these dudes at least do that?

As usual, I’m going to keep you fine folks posted.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Gone Fishin’ Back Online Dating Again, Oh Boy

  1. Enjoyed your post. Nice to see honesty.

    • Thanks so much. It’s so odd. I feel like because people don’t know how to meet each other and hold conversations in real life, we’re even worse at it online. Everyone I meet is not going to be my husband. I understand that. I need the men to understand that I understand that and just be open. That’s it.

  2. Ebony Rose on said:

    Well you k now I am waiting to read about this experience. PC and I talked about that site a few months ago. I think when I am ready (like really ready) to start dating again I might give the site a shot. As you know I’ve had my share of “interesting” dating site folks, lol.

    Have fun and I hope your dude finds you!

    • The funny thing is, I’m bored. I just want to talk and flirt. So not having any other intentions makes it easy for me to just be myself, say what I want to say and let them cancel themselves. I’ve already talked to some seemingly cool guys. I’m trying not to concentrate on education or whatever for now. I’m just going to talk.

Leave a Reply

