29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

There’s A Lot to Be Thankful For

Some friends exchanged emails with me today and one kicked it off by saying what she was thankful for in each friend’s life.

It hit me pretty hard that it’s been a wild ride for some people in my life.

So health is huge.

My friend who had the stroke in July, went back to work on Monday!!!! I am overjoyed and proud of her. She’s worked so hard to get her life back together and I’m just so impressed with her progress.

This year, I’ve had friends who battled mental illness, lost jobs, can’t find jobs and have been working hard to rebuild after really difficult things.

And thanks to God, we are all still standing and standing together.

This year, I had people leave and enter my life and thankfully there are some new folks I’m really hoping will stick around.

This year, I got a promotion and a raise only to have the company I work for change hands less than six months later, and basically cut everyone’s pay.

But, I’m still here.

I didn’t get put out on the street, didn’t miss a meal.

I came into 2012 with high hopes because 2011 was just a long period of darkness. It was hard to find things to be thankful for.

2012 has been a mixed bag of really high moments and some lonely, difficult low ones too, but I don’t have the same feeling of hopelessness or fear that I had last year.  So I’m super thankful for that.

I think we’ve all had our share of challenges this year, and yet, if we take a quick look around–we don’t even have to look that far, we’ve got things to be thankful for.

I have the most amazing family and friends, I work from home two days out of the week, I met a great guy who I hope is a major part of 2013, and I have tee shirts–real ones, not designs– and amazing photos from a real, deal New York City photo shoot to put on my web site that I plan to launch in 2013.

Progress has been made in my life and I’m thankful for that also.

I’m ready to open myself up in all aspects of my life and there was a period of time where I couldn’t say it or do it, and another where I could not say it or do it with confidence.

It feels really good.

This goes out to my family and friends. I’m so thankful for you all and if no one else has said it, I’m proud of who you are. You all are my heroes! May all of you have a really safe and fantastic Thanksgiving!!!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “There’s A Lot to Be Thankful For

  1. Awwww. You know I’m all about the song choice which coincidentally the performance actually aired on Thanksgiving in 1993. (Yes, I threw in Mariah Carey trivia as only I can.) Anyway, I’m thankful to have you as my friend.

Leave a Reply

