29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Too Soon? The Christmas Gift Conundrum

So, as we dive head first into the most aggressive time of year in the shopping season, I’ve been trying to get ahead of the ball by figuring out what the hell I’m going to get folks for Christmas.

Shopping for grown folks is already hard enough. That’s why I try to purchase awesome things when I see them all year long.

This almost always works out for one of my best friends who I randomly see stuff, then think of her and buy. So she’s basically done.

My parents on the other hand, gee whiz. I feel like I’ve done it all. I can’t afford to send them on vacation, so I guess I haven’t done it all. Something to put on the vision board for next year.

I have an idea of what I want to do for my sister, so I may stick to that. Then there’s my brother-in-law, eh, not sure what to do about him.

My nephew is easy, because I always ask my sister to email me his Christmas list and I just pick something, order it and have it sent to the house.

There’s one new addition to the list, and if things continue to go as well as they have been, I think it’s totally reasonable to get New Guy a gift.

Two of my friends have already suggested to keep it very simple, and under $25.

I sort of agree, I sort of don’t. I have a feeling things will continue to progress, and while I won’t go nuts, if I do get a more expensive gift, it would be tickets to something or something for us to do together.

My wish list this year is pretty simple.

I would gladly take gift cards to places like Chipotle or Panera. I would also take a gift certificate to a spa in a heartbeat.

Two gifts I will probably get for myself will be this lovely coach bag I’ve been wanting and a cute watch (gold or rose gold).

I feel like I treat myself in various ways all year long. 🙂

Any suggestions on what to get the New Guy that isn’t too much, but isn’t too little?

I love this episode of the Big Bang Theory. I love how they deal with the struggle of gift giving. Sheldon is too cute this episode. http://youtu.be/Q1_zVswbW8s

In honor of the shopping season and the impending arrival of Christmas….

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Too Soon? The Christmas Gift Conundrum

  1. The first holiday is always tricky. I am a BIG gift giver! Like I live to give gifts to folks, especially the ones who don’t expect it. The look on their faces does something to me. My suggestion would be something sweet and cute. Since you don’t want it to be expensive, perhaps a couple of $10 gift cards to his favorite food spots. If the two of you have taken a pic together, I would decorate a plain picture frame, maybe with an inside joke between the two of you and give that as well. Or if you know of a movie/game/book that you both like and he doesn’t have it, that would be sweet.

    Have fun 🙂

  2. How about you purchase him a ticket for that WHUR NYE Party that you enjoyed so much last year? This year, you will have a reason to get dolled up and you’ll have someone to kiss at midnight. Win/win.

Leave a Reply

