29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Fellas, I’ll Be at the Cultural Stuff

Welp, I figured I should tell you, my friends that I basically ended the situation with the older gentleman.

I know.

We all had high hopes. But it just didn’t feel right. He did something last week that led to a super lapse in judgement, involving a run-in with tow guys and the police, and a lackluster make out session, and the sense that he was too impressed by me, was a little too much.

He said he understood, but he still wanted to check on me from time to time and that he’d miss me.

I told him I don’t know what he was looking for down the line, but I had a feeling no matter how long we dragged this out, I wouldn’t be as all in as him.

It sucks. It sucks a lot because he was really, really sweet and kind. But he deserves more from someone who will be just as invested him. My heart wasn’t all in.

So here’s the deal.

I do think I’m ready to date and meet some great guys and I have a friend who is quite enthusiastic about me going out on the scene.

I’m not so excited about hitting the bars and parties. Actually, I dread it. It’s so not fun anymore. Don’t like it.

So, thanks to the good folks at Goldstar, where I get discounted tickets to all sorts of awesome stuff, I’ve figured out there’s a lot of interesting things going on that still involve a few cocktails, but involve cultural things, new music, art and things I dig, where there may be a greater likelihood of me even meeting someone who is interested in the same thing. It won’t be a meat market.

Tomorrow night, I’m going to check out an African hip hop artist at the National Geographic in D.C. I think it will be a lot of fun and inexpensive and I’ll be exposed to something new. Whether I meet someone or not, I still feel like I’ll get my money’s worth and I’ll be comfortable.

Next week, one of my awesome guy friends will join me to see the awesome jazz artist Robert Glasper, who has done some fabulous collaborations with R&B and hip hop artists. The music is unbelievable.

I won’t lie, I do feel somewhat self-conscious. Men aren’t chasing me down like they used to. Somewhere down the line, I gained 20 pounds and I really didn’t notice. I don’t think I look bad, but there is a difference. I’ve changed my hair, so it’s no longer long and straight, but short and curly. But I like my hair this way. I think I look good, but I guess in an unconventional way. So I’m not thrilled about going to some of D.C.’s hot spots trying to wear 5 inch heels and squeeze myself in to a freakum dress while surrounded by long weaves and rail thin music video girls.

I don’t want to push anything up or suck anything in. I want to be able to go out and look cute and comfortable. I just don’t have the desire to go all out to get men’s attention. You either see my light or you don’t. Am I being lazy? Will I not meet anyone awesome because I’m not trying hard enough, or am I old and jaded?

I drink Makers. Not apple martini’s. I like to argue about politics and social problems, I can’t dumb myself down. I like to talk about the books I’ve read, or the concerts or museum exhibits I want to see. I have opinions. Not to say that most of the men in D.C. are shallow, they dig all of that. But the ones that are 28-46, they are greedy, they know the demographics of the city and they know they are at an advantage when it comes to women and the numbers.

So, is my plan a great compromise? Go to more of the cultural events I already love to go to and maybe I can meet someone there?

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Fellas, I’ll Be at the Cultural Stuff

  1. I sad to see the older gentleman go because in the posts you seem really happy, but I understand about your heart not fully being in it. I died @ “I don’t want to push anything up or suck anything in.” Thank you for my laugh this morning.

    I don’t think you are compromising by not doing the “typical” stuff….you aren’t looking for a “typical” guy. I say be you and do you! Your light will shine anyway.

    Enjoy the concert!

    • It’s the truth! I don’t want to do that anymore! You are welcome. Yup, I think the doing me route will be the most efficient. These clubs and bars, I just can’t take it anymore. Can’t take it!!!! It’s old! I’ve been doing it since 18. Enough!!!!

  2. It’s great that you were honest with the older gentleman. If it’s not going to work out, there’s no need to keep in contact. Checking out new cultural events will broaden your horizons and (hopefully) allow you to meet new people. You never know who you might run into!

    – K.

  3. There is nothing wrong with that. As a matter of fact, I was at a day party where women were dressed as you said and you wanna know the one chick I saw talking to a fine guy getting his number- a chick with short hair, some jeans and some flats.

    As for the cultural stuff, I can’t say anything because I am going to a debate watch party for fun.

    I still like a good happy hour though. With wings.

    Why can’t PlayDate move to Columbus? *pouts*

Leave a Reply

