29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

I Will Never Outgrow My Favorite Childhood Films

I talk about turning 30, being 30 and all of the trials and tribulations, ups and downs.

Today’s post is pretty light and inspired by a recent DVD purchase.

While looking for measuring tape at a craft store (I’m taking my measurements to send to my accountability partner for weight loss, oh boy!) there was a bin of DVDs. After doing some digging, I found one of my absolute favorite movies as a kid.

“The Muppets Take Manhattan.” I LOOOVED that movie and every time it came on T.V., I would watch it. First of all, the Muppets are timeless and whether you are a kid or a grown up, you can’t help but love it.

I realized, that as I get older, I’m taking comfort in the old movies I loved to watch back in the day and I also enjoy watching “kid” movies.

I’m an adult, but I own “The Princess and the Frog,” “Happy Feet,” “Goonies” and while in college, me and my roommates watched “Shrek” a million times.

The great thing about movies for children is there’s always a message about seeing the good in people, being different, and not giving up and that if you do the right thing, you will come out on top.

For kids, those messages are obvious. They know these things.

But as adults, we lose our way. We have enough losses and enough disappointments that shake us and start tearing away at that innocent optimism we are all born with.

I actually know a bunch of adults like myself who don’t have children, but love kid’s movies like I do. So I know I’m not alone.

I think that watching kid’s movies as an adult helps us not take ourselves so seriously and it taps into something that we have in us all along.

So take some time to watch a favorite movie from your childhood. Relax, introduce it to a younger relative or a friend.

I also know I will never outgrow ice cream.

What are your favorite childhood movies?

Some of my favorites that weren’t necessarily for kids, but were favorites when I was younger include:

The Boy Who Could Fly

The Breakfast Club

Ferris Buller’s Day Off

Spaceballs

The Princess Bride

The Wiz

Clueless

Sixteen Candles

Pretty in Pink

Sister Act/Sister Act II

Mannequin

National Lampoon’s Family Vacation

Moving (Richard Pryor)

A League of Their Own

Bad News Bears (the original with Walter Matthaw)

The Toy (Richard Pryor)

Bustin Loose (Richard Pryor)

See No Evil, Hear No Evil

Desperately Seeking Susan

Jumpin Jack Flash

The Golden Child

Ok, so clearly I am a child of the 80’s.

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “I Will Never Outgrow My Favorite Childhood Films

  1. Lovin it ! From a fellow 80’s child 😉 Xx

  2. I LOVED The Boy Who Could Fly! I know so few people who have actually seen it. Such a great movie! I knew I liked you. 😉

    • There are a handful of people who know about that movie, as you mentioned. Was it not awesome? I’m so glad you know what i’m talking about!!! I like you too! Every single time I watched it, and it got to the part where he said, “millie, I love you” tears galore. A friend bought it for me on dvd a few years ago and i lost my mind. I was shocked anyone could find it!!!!

      Sent from my HTC smartphone on the Now Network from Sprint!

  3. I am right there with you! And now my husband and I are enjoying showing our toddler some of our favorites… I can’t wait to get a hold of Muppet Christmas Carol. LOL

Leave a Reply

