29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

I’ve Got A Feeling…

There are folks who always talk about speaking things into existence. I believe in this.

There are folks who swear by vision boards.

I too believe in this.

There are folks who say getting off your butt and being proactive and doing everything you can think to do to get whatever endeavor off the ground is essential.

I’m down with that 100 percent.

Folks also say to attain something you want, you have to take a risk and just step out on faith.

More folks say, if you stay calm, be positive and concentrate on giving to others and showing love, karma is going to come back to you.

We all know now, that I’ve been going through some professional changes, pay decrease, new company ownership, blah, blah.

I’ve mentioned that how all of this madness has made me really reevaluate what’s important to me, my definition of success and how I just want to be a better person who can be content with working with what she’s got until she can get a little more.

I was thrown a nice little life jacket of hope when a dream job called me back for a preliminary HR screening yesterday.

I was left feeling a little bit worried because they only asked me two questions– my salary requirement and my availability for work.

When they asked if I had any questions, I tried my best to ask some intelligent questions to really show my interest in such a great opportunity.

I mentioned a short list of things that people believe will help you get you what you want.

I think over this last week, I’ve been doing all of them in some way shape or form.

Last week, I stepped out on faith and I purchased a suit. I said, screw it. I’m going to buy a suit, because if someone calls me for an interview, I want to be ready and I want to feel confident. I tried on a cheap suit that looked ok, and I tried on a more expensive suit which made me feel like Kerry Washington’s character on Scandal, Olivia Pope.

While wearing my Olivia Pope suit, I turned and looked at the more economically friendly $40 option, said hell no, and purchased that Tahari. I dare anyone to tell me no, while rocking that thing. Olivia Pope does not accept no. Hell, I’m such a fan, I really have a pinterest board devoted to good-looking, non-boxy, ugly suits and Kerry Washington as her Scandal persona showing us how to rock a power suit right and still look like a lady.

The getting off my butt part, was just straight up spending evenings applying and looking and asking people if they knew of any leads.

The giving part is when I saw jobs that didn’t seem right for me, I sent them to other people, I offered myself as a reference, and I’ve even provided online recommendations on job sites for people I’ve worked with.

Seriously, I devoted entire prayers to praying for other people.

When my friends talked about things they were going through, I listened.

I just listened and thought to myself, so many people are going through so much. I want them all to get the desires of their hearts if that desire leads them to where they are supposed to be. I really felt other people’s pain, and thanked God for the blessings I did have.

Maybe doing these things opened me up.

I still have to wait to hear if I got the interview. They only want to see four people and right now they are whittling  6-10 candidates down to the four.

This job seems like the perfect fit. It blends things I am passionate about, which reminds me of speaking things into existence.

I was talking with someone maybe two weeks ago. I said, at this point in my career, I want to be financially comfortable, able to go on vacation twice a year, occasionally splurge on shoes or a spa treatment. But I also want to incorporate my skills as a writer/editor into something that involves advocacy and doing something for people. I haven’t been able to work in the advocacy area where I can see real change, real progress and people being helped.

Let’s just say, the more I research the organization I hope to be interviewing with in the coming weeks, the more my heart wants to jump out of my chest. I actually BELIEVE in what these people are doing and I can’t wait to work for them, use my talents and start helping folks while doing it.

I’m asking God for this chance and not to dangle it in front of me to only yank it away for some abstract reason I have to figure out six months from now. I’m guessing me interviewing and not getting a certain job earlier this year could mean, He was setting up this even better opportunity for me, right now? Yes? Maybe?

But I’m also thanking God for the confidence that phone call gave me to move forward and the proof that I have what it takes. Someone is going to want me in this crazy market.

I’m also praying for the maturity to accept whatever happens if I get the job and especially if I don’t get the job…

But I won’t front, I REALLY, REALLY WANT THIS JOB!

I really believe in my heart, I’m being led somewhere. And I’ve felt it for a long time, even when things started getting more crazy at my current job… and if the path is going where I think it’s headed, with this potential position on the horizon, all I can say is. WOW.

Love this inspirational song. Karen Clark Sheard, Missy Elliot, Yolanda Adams and Mary Mary. If that power combo doesn’t inspire you… Higher Ground.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “I’ve Got A Feeling…

  1. Ebony Rose on said:

    When praises/prayers go up, blessings come down! Keep doing what you are doing and stepping out on faith. His timing is always right. I’m praying for you as well! Congrats on everything 🙂

  2. Good luck! I’ll be sending good vibes into the universe for you 🙂

  3. You got this! I was just telling a good friend that there are very specific ways to know something is for you. A) God makes a way for it to happen and quickly. My mom is always telling me that when He moves, He moves fast. Now, the wait before the manifestation may seem like forever sometimes, but when it kicks into gear – it happens faster than you’d imagine. B) Even if you’re excited, you’re not scared. This is important, because fear and God can’t work together. So if you have excitement butterflies, that’s great. If it’s another kind – not so much. And finally C) It just feels right. Simple as that.

    Wishing you all the best!

    • Thank you! Thank you! And you are totally right about how fast God moves when it’s time for the moving to happen. I’ve seen this over and over again. I am super excited, because this gig is something I would have never thought of before and if I did get hired at the one place I interviewed with, I would have never considered applying for this. It wouldn’t have been on my radar. I kept wondering. I’m still here, I’m still here, other things aren’t working out, I’m still here, things are crazy. Where do you want me to be next? I’ll stay till you move me. This just feels right. Just as you said in item C.! Thank you, I’m so encouraged.

Leave a Reply

