29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Slacker Blues

I’m a slacker.

It’s been several days and I just let 29tolife just go…

But in my defense, an odd, powerful, quick storm called “derecho” basically shat all over the D.C., Maryland, Virginia area leaving more than 1 million people without electricity (that includes air conditioning in 100 degree weather) for several days.

For me, it was three days. Others are still trying to survive and I feel horrible for them. It’s been rough.

The storm made trees look like spilled crayons all over various neighborhoods. It was insane.

Fortunately, I was able to seek shelter with one of my good friends and her darling son, I ate good food and even checked out a farmers market and bought 20 sticks of incense for $1 and a unique gift for the fabulous L.A. cousin who showed me such a good time a few weeks ago. Way to make lemonade, eh?

So, while I was more concerned with conserving my phone battery and trying not to melt or spontaneously combust from the sweltering heat, I did not get to write any insightful or wonderful blogs.

Even if I tried, it would say.

“I’m hot. That is all I have the energy to say. Thank you.”

I would like to announce that I am starting to cross items off my summer bucket list, but hanging out with one of my friends who made a list too, I decided to add more. I can cross off outdoor concert! Whoo hoo.

Tubing down a river

Cooking class

Drive in theater (I found one! They have an awesome menu too.)

Obstacle course race?

This was not on my bucket list, but I started writing crazy haiku as a stress reliever and it was actually darn funny. You can check these ramblings on a sister blog, Ratchethaiku.

So, I promise to bring it in upcoming days. I’ve got more bff drama (the same damn one, half-assed apologies and dramatic email exchanges), and I’m trying to figure out if there’s any spark between me and my older gent and whether or not he’s going to get a first class ticket to Friendville.

Stay tuned my friends.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Slacker Blues

  1. Been thinking of you and my other DC friends during this power outage/heat wave catastrophe. You have a genuine, legitimate excuse for slacking. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

    That being said, can’t wait to hear your new updates when you get around to them. But let the temp come down a little more. It’s crazy out there!

    PS- we have a drive-in in town (for the moment- they’ve been threatening to close it for four years now) and right now they’re showing Brave and Madagascar. Think if it cools off enough the kid and I may need to take in a show tonight!

    • Thanks for the support! Yes, it’s been a crazy week. So appreciative of electricity! Today is 90 degrees and I think it feels great outside. I recently heard of a drive in theater in Maryland and I’m itching to go. I haven’t been in eons. You should definitely go check it out. What fun!!

  2. So glad you are back. Sorry to hear you lost power; I was one of the blessed ones. All of the wires in my area are underground so I rarely use power. I will admit I was checking the blog everyday to read what’s going on in your world and find some strength in your writings, as we have been going through similiar things this past year.

    Like yourself I plan to hit a drive in movie once or twice this year. There is a nice on ein Baltimore. If you are looking for an obstacle course race, check out Run For Your Life…or something like that. My BFF Paul (you may know him from Howard) and I are going to run it in Oct.

    Thanks for the update and I look forward to reading your thoughts!

    • I’m glad you were able to avoid the drama! It was rough! I do believe the drive in I’m interested in is just outside of Baltimore. It’s probably the same one! If your Paul is the one I know who I think is the same Paul, he’s good and awesome people! It makes me feel good to know that people understand what I’m going through, and if my posts make people feel better, that makes me feel even better! Thank you so much. Your words made my day!

  3. 100 degree heat?! You’re completely justified.

Leave a Reply

