29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

‘R You Ready for a Wonderful day?’

I get to work this morning and I look at my phone.

My ex (ex fiance I am still recovering from) sends me a text asking if we can talk later today.

He’s been going through some tumultuous family drama, and me being me, I agreed.

As soon as my mind started spinning, and my chest started to tighten, consumed with whatever he wants to talk to me about, I was pinged with another text.

This one from a male friend with whom there is an undeniable mutual attraction, but we find a way to argue everyday.

Aside from saying good morning, he said something that hit me like a tranquilizer dart.

“R you ready for a wonderful day?”

I was on the verge of the spiral, when I remembered all I’ve been gaining for nearly a year and a half, the pain, the setbacks, the small and large victories.

I realized I haven’t felt this good about myself in a long time, and with one text message, I was about to worry and second guess myself into oblivion.

I couldn’t go back. Regardless of what my ex has to say (and yes, I will talk to him because I said I would, and yes I actually care about him to offer my support) I’m going to remember something a fellow blogger L from Not So Skinny Genes said in a recent post that resonated with me since I read it.

“I will be the same amount of happy that I am right now, or I will be happier than I am right now. Because I’ve spelled everything out, and presented the option… regardless of their choice I will be able to feel confident that I didn’t hold anything back. There were no surprises. I valued myself.”

I already applied this theory to dealing with a difficult friend earlier this week, and I’m going to apply it again, when facing my ex later on today.

“R you ready for a wonderful day?”

Even though I fight with this guy friend on a regular basis, there are times he says things that just hit me over the head.

There was so much irony in the timing and who it came from.

“R you ready for a wonderful day?”

It was like he was opening a brand new door in my mind that had to have been there all along, but suddenly appeared out of nowhere today.

Was I going to choose to spend my entire day obsessing and agonizing over what my ex has to say 8 or 9 hours from now and letting that affect me and ruin my day?

He no longer has that right.

As another friend pointed out, he relinquished any right to me owing him anything when he spontaneously said he didn’t think he had what it took to be a good enough husband for me and simply walked away.

I choose my wonderful day.

I choose door number two.

“R you ready for a wonderful day?”

To which I replied,

“Yes. Yes, I am. Ironic. I got a text from someone who could potentially ruin my day and/or everything I’ve been working so hard to rebuild and you say that. It’s a good reminder. I’m ready for consistent wonderful days.”

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “‘R You Ready for a Wonderful day?’

  1. Here here!

  2. …letting that affect me and ruin my day? He no longer has that right.

    That really struck me because I recently “broke up” with a longtime friend and still find myself occasionally getting angry over it. But like your situation, she no longer has the right to ruin my day. Thank you for imparting that bit of wisdom today.

    Yay you!

    • I’m glad I can help. It’s really amazing how much power we give people over our minds and just over how our day is going to go. We have to step back and choose ourselves and our own happiness and sanity.

  3. Thank you for this post. Seriously, thank you. I woke in a complete funk today and really angry for reasons I don’t know, but will probably figure out later. (How our subconscious plays tricks on us). And this post has brightened my day.

    Thank you

  4. You really paid it forward with this post for me at least! I read this when you posted it and laughed because one of my coworker is totally this guy in my life:
    “This one from a male friend with whom there is an undeniable mutual attraction, but we find a way to argue everyday.”

    He and I went out to lunch, and we were arguing before we got back to the office. And it wasn’t one of those easy arguments today, it was one of those ones that stirs up deeper feelings and sticks with you. But as he and I continued on, and he said his peace and I said mine, all I could hear was: “I will be the same amount of happy that I am right now, or I will be happier than I am right now. ” And while normally those arguments ruin part of my day, this time it didn’t.

    So thank you for sharing! I hope your day did end up being wonderful!

    • You know what? My day was wonderful. I had a moment when I did get that phone call, but I was prepared. I’m so glad you found the post to be useful!! Thank you so much! It really gives me a boost.

Leave a Reply

