29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Inch By Inch: I See It, Sort Of…

I don’t know if I’m going crazy or not, but since I’ve started doing Zumba twice a week for basically two months now, I haven’t dropped serious weight, but certain pairs of pants are not cutting off my circulation anymore. One pair of pants actually looked baggy yesterday.

Pants I normally wouldn’t wear because I couldn’t button them, I can button if I hold my breath.

Certain shirts don’t make me look like a boxy, shapeless blob.

One of the warning signs that I was gaining weight was the fact that there wasn’t a defining separation between my boobs and my stomach when wearing a tight shirt. It was just a square blob.

One of the warning signs that my health was being threatened by my horribly inactive lifestyle was a bad pain shooting up and down my left arm and shoulder. That was the moment I said enough was enough, and that I need to do something. Truth be told. It scared me.

Since I’ve been doing Zumba, I haven’t felt that pain since.

I’ve been trying to eat better, (but that’s been the most difficult part for me) so I know that’s part ofย  why I’m not dropping significant amounts of weight yet. And I know I need to kick it up one more notch and either add another day of Zumba or add another day of doing some other form of exercise and then kick it up from there to see for real results on the scale.

The funny thing is, I’m not going nuts over the fact that I may have only lost about 3 pounds in the process, I even looked it up because while my weight has been holding steady, I feel better and I think I look better. I saw a friend I hadn’t seen in a while and she said that I look fantastic and I look more in shape. So that’s good.

Well, this article helped explain what’s going on with that. I was encouraged to read that sometimes this happens because as you are losing fat, you are gaining muscle. The article said if you are losing inches, that’s a good sign you are heading in the right direction.

The author concludes with this : “Now that you understand the different characteristics of fat and muscle, you are probably likely to reconsider your weight loss goals. Losing inches doesn’t seem bad at all. Believe your clothes; only they will tell you the truth first. (check) Second, believe your mirror; it never lies. (check) Third, believe what your BCA indicates. Fourth, your friends and relatives. (check) Fifth, your weighing scale.”

Looking at the scale last, I think is a really great idea. My goal is to just keep moving, and keep working on feeling good and not out of breath. That’s another thing, I was able to run with luggage to catch a bus and I’m so proud of myself. I didn’t feel as tired or out of breath as I would have a few months ago just from walking up a few flights of steps. And I see a difference when I get out of the shower. I’m starting to see the difference between boobs and boxy blob (thank you God). So I feel the little differences! Whoo hoo!

I’m dog tired from traveling (and my period), but I’m going to go to class today anyway. I can’t regress from my progress. Just wanted to check in and give an update! Go me!

Does anyone else have that issue where they can see and feel positive differences in their body, but the scale isn’t moving?

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Inch By Inch: I See It, Sort Of…

  1. Yes, yes, a thousand times yes! When I cared (which hasn’t been lately- need to climb back on that horse) I always gave the scale much more power than I should have given it. I’d lose inches and clothes would become too big, but if that scale still said a certain weight, I’d feel fat despite the evidence to the contrary.

    I do disagree with the mirror not lying though. For some reason I have two mirrors in my house that, while they don’t make me look skinny, they also don’t make me look as grotesque as pictures do. I’m always surprised when I see pictures of myself, because they look nothing like what I see in the mirror when I leave the house. What the hell?

    • OMG! Yes, the pictures tell the for real tale. Actually, some pictures from last year really told the tale for me that I was getting visibly large. I was just shocked, because, you are right. When I looked in the mirror, I saw something totally different. I didn’t think it was that drastic of a change! Good point! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. If my goal was to lose weight, I’d have a significant amount to lose. But this time around, I just wanted to feel better, so I’ve avoided the scale and have just focused on what my body will allow me to do. The increased activity now allows me to walk and stand longer, go up stairs easier, get out of chairs easier, and just feel fairly confident in general.

    Having said that, I do notice that my clothes are fitting better, and when I look in a mirror straight on I can see that I’m slightly “narrower.” I sometimes start falling back into the “oh no I have to lose weight” mentality, especially when I notice that I still have a double chin, or when I want to wear something that still doesn’t quite fit right. But I stop myself and focus on the positives.

    I think that’s awesome that you’re still doing Zumba. I’m looking forward to being able to do a whole session without stopping at some point in the future. It’s fun and beats just doing machines all the time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think you have an excellent attitude about it all! It’s so easy to get hung up on the scale, feel worse and then either give up or eat more because you feel it’s not working anyway. Keep it up!!

  3. detroitraised on said:

    I took almost an entire week off from exercising last week because I was tired from my conference and I was in period mode. My Wii talked about me something bad. Damn Wii. At least it’s in the privacy of my own home. LOL!

  4. I can see a total difference in several aspects of my life when I am active. Not just the numbers on the scale but in my passion for life, my humour, my mood…everything really. Go you though! Sounds like you’re moving in a healthy direction =) Happy for ya!

    • Thank you! Thank you! I agree on the passion tip. My head is clearer. I have a list of things I want to do, and will do include volunteer and eventually participate in a 5k (that allows walking and jogging, ha!). Working out has motivated me in those areas too. You are right!

      • This always happens when you take up rigorous physical activity..I play badminton every day in the evening nowadays..and can feel no pain in the back, which used to happen earlier due to odd postures..So keep it going

  5. Yet another hint that I need to bite the bullet and try Zumba! I’m going to search for a local class now. Thanks!!

  6. It’s so hard not to get hung up on the scale! I think that (if you have access to it) body fat percentage can be a good measurement. For every day assessment, though, I agree with going by how your pants feel. Like a previous commenter said, the mirror doesn’t work for me–I’m way too hard on myself!

Leave a Reply

