29tolife

Just another WordPress.com site

Why My 30th Birthday Will Be Held at Medieval Times

”]You read correctly.

I’m going to have a fantastic time celebrating the big 3-0 at Medieval Times.

I’ve gotten a range of responses from my friends. Some friends have totally gotten it and they understand me and my personality and they are excited.

Other friends have either made faces or just asked “Why?” With a blank stare.

Then other friends expressed their lack of enthusiasm for my choice of venue to other friends and not me. Keep in mind, my big day ain’t until February and I’m already starting to catch some static.

So this is how I feel. (Explaining myself about things I want to do for me is something I plan to leave in my 20s, FYI. I’m making this exception for the blog.)

One: I’ve been trying to get to Medieval Times  since I was a kid and never did. It always seemed cool to me even as an adult, but I never had a good reason to go. I didn’t want to go alone and I couldn’t convince people to go with me any other time besides my birthday.

Two: I’m tired of the club.

That’s right, I said it. I’ve been to a bunch of birthdays where people have bottle service to pay at a minimum, $200 just to have a place to sit while you drink said bottle. For that amount, I can almost pay for every one that I’ve invited with the online discount!! By the time you are tipping the oh so trendy waitresses you hardly see all night her mandatory 20 percent and paying for valet; besides the hourly personal shout out from the DJ, what did you and your peeps really get?

Three: More bang for your buck. At Medieval Times, you get a meal, and you get entertainment that you wouldn’t normally get on a regular basis. You’re eating with your hands, you’re screaming and yelling while real life people are jousting, riding real life horses.

Four: I’ve lived in non-poppin cities and learned that fun is what you make it and with whom you make it.

The people who have tended to give me the gas face about my decision are folks who have a tendency to highly enjoy the pomp and circumstance that comes with being able to skip a line and look down on the peasants from lofty VIP perches. I have enjoyed those moments personally, but it just ain’t what I want for MY birthday.

I’m a silly girl. I’m no-frills. I don’t “put on airs.” I love jeans and tee shirts and hats. I’m artsy, I’m a nerd. I’ve been described as “quirky” more times than I can count. I’m the girl who wants monogrammed mason jar glasses (they exist!) in preparation for my Juneteenth party next year.

For the friends who actually know me for real, celebrating this way isn’t a surprise at all. I’ve had great random moments with friends that included filling watermelons with vodka and eating the fruit all day and playing double dutch. Or taking impromptu road trips. I’ve had moments with friends where we went to festivals and drank wine on blankets all day or got lost wandering museums. I’ve had great moments at sporting events or plays or outdoor concerts with the people I love most. Those moments are the ones I have most treasured and none of them took place sitting behind some rope or getting squished on a dance floor at a club or über trendy restaurant.

Five. It’s just different.

It’s just a different kind of experience. Like I said, everyone does the club. Everyone does a restaurant or tries to throw a party at a hall. I’m shaking it up a bit.

What I also keep telling people is, the party just ain’t going to be Medieval Times. I’m going to have a ridiculous after party with great food and lots of drinks.  The following day, I want to have brunch. My goal was to have a fantastic weekend surrounded by friends whom I enjoy spending time with and to make some really great memories.

I will say this. I do appreciate the friends who after questioning my plan and or making a face, just simply shook their heads and said, “Hey, it’s your birthday so we’ll do whatever you want.”

Now that’s the friggin spirit.

I’m about to be 30, and with that also comes a stronger ‘I don’t care’ attitude. So really, I’m not going to trip off of the people who don’t show up because they didn’t think it was a cool way to celebrate MY DAY.

I’d rather them not show up and ruin the groove of the people who are there and committed to having a good time– no matter what we do.

Bring on the paper crowns, the swords, the massive turkey legs and the hot knights. Here ye, here ye, I’m turning 30!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Why My 30th Birthday Will Be Held at Medieval Times

  1. Pingback: If 16 Is Sweet, 30′s Definitely Dirty « 29tolife

  2. Pingback: Mood Music: Live it Up, Live « 29tolife

  3. Pingback: Frenemies and ‘Faking the Funk’ « 29tolife

Leave a Reply

